RSS

03/17 – Day 3: What Drives Your Life?

17 Mar

On March 20 – 21 will be my comprehensive exam and to be honest, that’s what drives me the most this week. 10 subjects in just 2 days. Oh my gee. I swear I am about to collapse as I can feel all the anxieties and panic surge. I am driven to finish my deliverables at this moment so that I can fully study except that my mind is currently jittering. Oh well.

Anyhoo, Day 3 of my Purpose Driven Life Journey focuses more on what drives us to exist. It helps us in answering the question about your driving force. What is your driving force by the way? Me, all I want is to finally check all my bucket lists and live a life full of purpose by being the person I am destined to be. Big statement? I know.

The book though listed five most common drives that we experienced:

  • Many people are driven by guilt.

I agree as I experienced this before. I did live my life haunted by the shadows of my past. I already wrote about it few years back but I am glad I was totally over it though it took me hell lot of time to forgive myself. Never let your past rule your life.

  • Many people are driven by resentment and anger.

“Resentment always hurts you more than it does the person you resent.” I don’t dwell on the negatives because it won’t do you well. Always accentuate the positives and burn the negatives. Let go of whatever happened to your past. Learn from past experiences. Have no room for regrets.

  • Many people are driven by fear.

I decided to live my life without any fear as I don’t want to hinder myself with all the possibilities just because I am afraid to take chances.

  • Many people are driven by materialism.

I am definitely guilty of this. I’ve got goals I want to achieve. Having a car is one of my ultimate plans as of the moment because I want to go on roadtrips and be in places I haven’t been. I wanted to earn more so that I will buy whatever I wanted to buy and be wherever I want to be. I am materialistic perhaps, a wanderer, a person driven by his goals. I am aware that money won’t bring me permanent happiness because I am still a believer that the best things in life aren’t actually things. I remind myself that my value is not actually based on what I have monetarily but who I am as a person. Real security is our own relationship with our Creator and not just money.

  • Many people are driven by the need for approval.

“Those who follow the crowd, get lost in it.” Do what your heart screams for and be a person who lives his life according to other people’s expectations. Seriously, you are living such a sad life if you let the expectation of others define you. You are living on someone else’s shadow. I promised myself that I will never ever let anyone control my life. I did not exist to fulfill the expectation of others. I won’t let you or anybody else define me, your opinions won’t define me.

Without a purpose, life is motion without meaning, activity without direction, and events without reason.”

 

A life without a defined purpose is the greatest tragedy of all. It is existing for nothing. If you’re still lost, keep on asking God to lead you the way to greatness. Never stop on hoping that someday your life finally makes sense and that you exist for greater good. Keep going! Keep on believing! Never cease on asking God!

“God… is able to do far more than we would ever dare to ask or even dream of – infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts or hopes.”

Knowing our purpose has its own benefits. It gives us meaning. It simplifies our own life as we know what we will prioritize the most .It gives us the sense of balance to live our life by focusing more on what really matters making our lives a little lot effective. Prune away those activities that don’t do you well.

You can be busy without a purpose?What’s the point?”

Our purpose helps us in motivating ourselves because it produces passion. It drives us each day because we are loving what we are doing. Lastly, if we live a life with purpose it actually prepares us for eternity. I always tell myself that I need to please God when I die. The greatest pride is to hear him say, “Very well, my child. You lived your life according to my plans. You may now enter the kingdom as I’ve waited long to be with you again.”  I need to change my belief about living to leave a legacy on earth because I know my existence will then be forgotten.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
