RSS

03/16 – Day 2: You Are Not An Accident

16 Mar

Source: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-jfTKMeG-LgA/Th3A9L2UnDI/AAAAAAAAAEo/GJfuFhLIcdw/s1600/accident.jpg

A poem by Russell Kelfer as published in the book sums up Day 2 of my Purpose Driven Life journey:

You are who you are for a reason.

You’re part of an intricate plan

You’re a precious and perfect unique design,

Called God’s special woman or man.

 

You look like you look for a reason.

Our God made no mistake.

He knit you together within the womb,

You’re just what he wanted to make.

 

The parents you had were the ones he chose,

And no matter how you may feel,

They were custom-designed with God’s plan in mind,

And they bear the Master’s seal.

 

No, that trauma you faced was not easy.

And God wept that it hurt you so;

But it was allowed to shape your heart

So that into his likeness you’d grow.

 

You are who you are for a reason,

You’ve been formed by the Master’s rod.

You are who you are, beloved,

Because there is a God!

Day 2 of my 40-day journey to get closer to God is actually my favorite topic. It reminds me that I am not an accident. It is a touching realization knowing that God planned everything, he planned me even if my parents did not plan me at all. God planned me and I am blessed because his love is unfathomable yet fundamentally reliable. He made me into who he intended me to be and I am happy being me. I used to feel insecure about myself even considering my life to be a little dysfunctional but I guess as years pass by I have grown into a more mature and self-aware individual. I love myself despite my weaknesses and insecurities, it took me an ample amount of time to fully embrace myself and turn my weaknesses into opportunities to be better. I thank God again for leading the way.

We need to be constantly reminded that we are here for a reason, reasons we don’t totally understand but we don’t need to question God’s plan. We are here with a purpose, time will unravel everything. In the future, our past will finally make sense and we will all be thankful that God intricately shaped us into someone he wanted us to be. Indeed, things that are happening to us didn’t happen by chance, it was all planned out even if sometimes we believe in chances and in fate. We just didn’t know that sole fact – that nothing in our lives were arbitrary.

I thank God for loving me as his child. I thank him because he planned me. I thank him because he is a merciful and loving God. Love indeed is the essence of his character and we should always, always remember that.

Love yourself because you are a symbol of God’s love. Albert Einstein once said: “God doesn’t play dice.

Source: http://www.freeheartday.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/you-are-not-an-accident-640×350.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
