RSS

07/17 – Day 237: Letter to My 22 Year Old Self

29 Jul

After reading the May edition of Cosmopolitan wherein Leah Salonga, Eugene Domingo, Joey Mead and all other fearless women wrote a letter to their old selves, I realized that it’s better if I have my own version of it too.

Let me share to you a paragraph of what I have written for myself.

Dear 22 Year Old Me,

As time passes by, you should thank God for what have happened in your life. It’s been a decade and who you are today is a product of what have happened in the past.

I was able to face adversity with a strong heart. I was able to surpass conflicts successfully and realized that I am indeed strong and patient. I tried to understand the situation first, weighing the pros and cons before acting based on my emotions which can sometimes be disastrous. Rage and revenge will never be the best solution to problems and conflicts. I find people who trash talk others without any evidence at all as douchebags and pathetic who simply waste my time and energy. I don’t need to explain the real score about me, where I came from and my life all over again. I don’t give a damn as I know the truth.

I am 22 and still egocentric. At least, I am honest to myself.

I am lost.

I don’t know who I will be 10 years from now or if I will still be alive by then but no matter what, I just simply want to enjoy what life has to offer. May the darkness, lost in the labyrinth kind of life I have today will make sense in the future which I know it will be.

I may be happy with what I turned out to be but I am still scared of the future. I may whine about my love-hate relationship with my job but I know it’s likeable and tolerable somehow. Well, at least I get to pretend that I like it everyday just to set my mind to work and be the best that I can be. I motivate myself rather than sulk into miseries and feel so hopeless. I long for the day that I’ll do the job that I really dreamed about and will surely love. I pray for that day and what I can do right now is be the best that I can be right now so that I’ll end up with no regrets at all.

What I know is that I am meant to for something greater but I don’t know what that something is. I hope my long wait will be over soon. I know it will as God will always be on my side no matter what.You know you are a tough young woman, a dreamer, a go-getter and never gives up. You are always game for challenges and adventures. You never cease to dream and make the best version of yourself. You always contemplate on things and thank God for everything. You hate the routine life. You are laidback and simple. At 22, you have dreams waiting to be fulfilled.

Please don’t forget you’re still young.
I know you worry about something and that is to waste your life doing something insignificant.

Learn to live your life one step at time. Just enjoy it!

“Life goes on.
Life is a series of events that shape you into who you wanted to be.
God is there.
God will always be there .
Trust in his power and embrace each struggles whole – heartedly.
Live with faith and love.
Embrace your awesomeness!”

Love,

22 year old — Carol 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2012 in people

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
