RSS

Breathtaking View : Tinagong Dagat, Sipalay City, Negros Occidental

12 May

Chill Rating : ☺☺☺☻☻

Place : Tinagong Dagat, Sipalay City, Negros Occidental — 5 hours travel from Bacolod if you ride a bus. It’s better if you have your own SUV so that you’ll have time to stop over in Cauayan and in other parts of Sipalay to have your picture taken. The view is really nice. They used to call it La Isla Bonita but it’s now actually known as Tinagong Dagat. The place is also few minutes away from Sipalay’s private beach resorts and diving centers.Image

Highlights of the Place :

  • Breathtaking view
  • Clean hotel rooms
  • Exclusive use of the swimming pool for guests
  • Hot or cold shower

Low lights:

  • No Wi-fi access (I almost die! lol)
  • Poor customer service
  • Limited cable TV channels
  • No electricity on the other side of the islets

Suggestions:

  • Heater on all rooms
  • Kayaking or boating around the islet
  • Develop the whole islet to attract more tourists
  • Accommodating staffs that cater on needs of the guests promptly

Image

The rooms are affordable ranging from 1200php – 1650php. I can say, it’s clean and offers a good view, overlooking the sea and the islets. The room that we got is good for 4 – 6 persons.

Image

The room is spacious that even 10 -12 people can fit in it.

I must say, one thing I loved the most about the place aside from the breathtaking view is the bridge connecting the two islets. I really find it romantic as well at night if there are colored bulbs swinging on the bridge just like in the movies and it’s also a perfect aisle for weddings — yeah I’m imagining wedding stuffs again. It sucks, I really want to be a wedding planner. Anyways, the bridge reminds me of kids who wants to cool off the summer heat. They’ll just jump into the waters not caring at all. I wished I was able to jump into the clear waters, the only problem was that it was low tide when we came and when the tide was up, I’m all dressed up to go home  (Oh well). During high tide, the pool on the other side of the islet seems to be an infinity pool. It’s really scenic as it overlooks the open sea.

Image

The swimming pool besides the Resort’s bar is exclusive for guests use only. I think we spent most of our time swimming here.

Image

I am a sucker for sunset and cloud shots. During low tide, I walked a few meters away from the resort hoping to capture the sunset on cam but unfortunately the rain stopped me from my ultimate plan. I was drenched and sad because I was not able to capture it due to cumulus – nimbus clouds hovering the skies. Oh well, not my lucky day but still I enjoyed cloud watching though.

Image

I live to chill and wander to places I’ve never been to. I must say, Sipalay is the best place to unwind and destress your mind. People need a vacation to recharge and be in one with ourselves again. Who wouldn’t spend a quiet time in the afternoon enjoying the clear waters?

Image

Again, who wouldn’t?

Image

I’m so excited to go back to Sipalay next summer. :)

 
28 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2013 in nature, travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Breathtaking View : Tinagong Dagat, Sipalay City, Negros Occidental

  1. Dahlia Juarez Campillanos

    June 20, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    thank you so much for this. we will take the low lights possitively.this was only shared by my neice. i would never have a chance to see this if not because of her.thank you also for the suggestions. wish we could have a budget for those.:) i enjoyed reading your post!

     
    • Bic

      April 12, 2014 at 12:03 pm

      Ms. Campillanos,
      I’ve been a recurring visitor to Tinagong Dagat since 2002 when you had a floating bamboo restaurant (did I remember right?). I must say it is my favorite haunt in Sipalay where I escape to when I run out of creative juice (I’m a travel writer). I’m from Valladolid so it’s just a few hours away if the Ceres buses don’t act up (like they do now). I love Tinagong Dagat the way it is – and even back then when there was no structure to cater to tourists – for the simple reason that it lets let me reconnect with my primal need (which is a dose of undiluted nature). For that, I am ever thankful that you allow the public to revel in this place (as opposed to certain beaches up in Punta Ballo that I understand are off-limits).
      When I’m in the city, I stay at Manna Pension House which I have been doing for the last 6 or so years. I met your relatives Ma’am Nena and Miss Karen, and they treated the pension house staff like family. From here, Tinagong Dagat is within striking distance, so no need to splurge my limited budget.
      In response to Chillerspot’s ‘lowlights’, I’d say:
      >I bring a Tattoo plug it with me and the 3G signal reaches even the viewdeck that is currently under construction. I communicated with my clients and with my writer contractors last week from up there.
      >The staff are rather friendly – Cheche and Nong Bong in particular – and could benefit from coaching if they do not live up to lofty expectations.
      >Personally, I prefer not to have connection to the outside world – save from the much-needed Internet. The TV you can always have at home; such beautiful spread facing the Sulu Sea you cannot.
      >No electricity means Tinagong Dagat has a ‘dark sky reserve’ of some sort. It’s nice to gaze at the stars un-polluted by artificial lights.
      >Kayaking you can do if you rent from them. Php150 an hour I think if you book a cottage.
      >The islands exude a certain charm even without modern structures. Depending of course on your expectations, a place such as Tinagong Dagat kept in its nearly natural state can be as beautiful, if not more.

       
      • dahlia

        May 9, 2014 at 8:24 am

        Hello Bic.just read this and if only i could thank you personally for a very heartwarming words about tinagong dagat.
        thank you so much.

         
  2. Xen Gee

    August 1, 2013 at 4:22 am

    do you have the contact number for this resort? i would really appreciate it :)

     
  3. Alan Quilbio

    August 22, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Kindly text me the cp number of this resort. my cp number is 09122462768 (alan). Thanks!

     
  4. Curious

    November 15, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Are you sure this is Tinagong Dagat in Sipalay and not La Isla Bonita.?

     
    • chillerspot

      December 1, 2013 at 12:43 pm

      Oh they changed the name to La Isla Bonita already but they used to call it Tinagong Dagat

       
    • Dahlia campillanos

      December 3, 2013 at 10:30 pm

      Actually the place is formerly known as La Isla Bonita but there was a problem at the DTI’s registration, the business name already exist, so we decided to change it to Tinagong Dagat Island Resort.

       
      • chillerspot

        December 3, 2013 at 11:25 pm

        I guess I’ll edit this post again. Isla Bonista is also a resort in Boracay though if I’m not mistaken. Thanks for clarifying. I really appreciate it. :-)

         
  5. Clireese May

    November 20, 2013 at 10:39 am

    We’ll go there!

     
  6. RV

    December 16, 2013 at 10:52 am

    cant someone post the contact number of this resort?

     
    • chillerspot

      December 19, 2013 at 8:42 pm

      I lost the number I’ll get back to you once I have it. :-)

       
  7. Wennie

    December 18, 2013 at 1:09 am

    I am from Dubai and I would like to bring my family here. Please email me your contact details. Thank you so much. (twinnycatadman@ymail.com)

     
    • chillerspot

      December 19, 2013 at 8:41 pm

      Hi there my email is sharoncarollamb@gmail.com :-)

       
    • Dahlia campillanos

      December 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm

      Contact number 09209022300

       
    • Dahlia campillanos

      December 21, 2013 at 7:57 pm

      09209022300 look for Val Campillanos

       
      • chillerspot

        December 22, 2013 at 5:26 am

        Thanks a lot :)

         
  8. DOROTHY

    January 14, 2014 at 5:53 am

    @boba
    alingaga,kung wifi man lang pangita mo,tani nagpa Munsterific kanalang!

    LIHOG LANG DA AH!

     
    • chillerspot

      January 14, 2014 at 7:55 pm

      The way you comment just shows your level of intelligence. :)

       
  9. Blez

    February 7, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Amazing! Thanks to you Chillerspot! Very proud Sipalaynon here. :D

     
    • chillerspot

      February 22, 2014 at 10:10 am

      Sipalay is an amazing place!

       
  10. Kate

    April 21, 2014 at 11:45 am

    hi what’s the contact number for tinagong dagat in sipalay, wanna have reservation for 4

     
    • chillerspot

      April 21, 2014 at 3:15 pm

      Hi Kate, Contact number 09209022300 – look for Ms. Dahlia

       
  11. Jovelyn Juarez Corral

    May 7, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    i love the place…our family is planning to go there…Yes i agree sipalay is a nice place. they have beautiful beaches. i usually go to sipalay twice a month…

     
  12. Ruby

    May 8, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Hi Chiller! Nice spot you have here. Thanks for sharing it. Just wondering how deep the water is around it. I’m not really a good swimmer so i want to know if i would have to a floater or not.

     
    • chillerspot

      May 9, 2014 at 3:01 am

      It actually depends if it’s high tide or low tide. You can stay in the infinity pool though. It offers an amazing view .

       
  13. Jonjon Polido

    May 30, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    this really amazing and relax…….

     
  14. george

    August 11, 2014 at 2:58 am

    this is a great place!.. how much are the room rates?preferably air-conditioned. thanks..

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

